How Much is a Ticket for Not Wearing a Mask in California?

How Much is a Ticket for Not Wearing a Mask in California

Here is a list of California cities and counties that have implemented fines for not wearing a mask or face-covering in public: Governor Gavin Newsom issued a statewide mask mandate requiring pretty much everyone to wear a face-covering when outside your home and near other people.

In most cities, only about 50% of the population is following the rules so it's not exactly clear how the mask mandate is being enforced depends on local jurisdictions. Some cities and counties are depending on people's goodwill, and others are forcing violators to pay up.  Here is a map of states where masks are required outdoors.

  • Beverly Hills: $100 fine for the first offense, $200 for a second, $500 for third and subsequent offenses
  • Calabasas: $100 for the first violation
  • Compton: 1st violation - written warning, second violation - $500, third violation - $750, and fourth violation - $1,000
  • Contra Costa County: $100 fine for an individual's first violation, $200 for second and $500 for third; $250 for a business's first violation, $500 for second and $1,000 for third
  • Costa Mesa: $100 fine
  • Duarte: $100 for first offenses, $200 for second offenses, and $500 for every subsequent violation within a one-year period from the initial offense
  • Fremont: $100 fine
  • Glendale: $400 for the first fine, $1,000 for the second fine and $2,000 for the third
  • Hermosa Beach: Citations will come with fines of $100 for the first violation, $200 for a second violation, and $500 for each subsequent violation of the face mask requirement within a one-year period.
  • Irvine: Penalties up to $500 per day
  • Los Angeles County: $100 for the first offenses and $500 and a 30-day permit suspension for multiple fines. 
  • Monterey: $100, second violation - $200, third violation - $500
  • Manhattan Beach: $100 for the first violation, $200 for the second, and $350 for subsequent violations.  Manhattan Beach also gave out fines for not social distancing
  • Marin County: Fines between $25 and $500 for individuals, and between $250 to $10,000 for businesses
  • Monterey: $100 for first violation
  • Napa County: Fines between $25 and $500 for individuals, and between $250 to $10,000 for businesses
  • Riverside County:  $1000
  • Salinas: $100 for first violation, $500 for second and $1,000 for subsequent
  • San Mateo County: $100 fine for the first violation, $200 for the second and $500 for additional violations within a year; business fines between $250 and $3,000
  • Santa Barabara: Up to $1000
  • Santa Clara County: If you get caught without a face covering it could cost you up to $500. The price goes up for violations by businesses, they face fines up to $5,000.
  • Santa Cruz County: $100 for the first offense, $200 for the second and $500 for a third within a year
  • Santa Monica: $100 fine for an individual's first violation, $250 for second and $500 for third; $500 for a business's first violation, $750 for second and $1,000 for third
  • Sonoma County: Fine of $100 for individuals, fines between $1,000 and $10,000 for business violations
  • West Hollywood: $300 for the first violation
  • Ventura County:  Up to $1000
  • Yolo County: Fine between $25 and $500 for individuals; fine between $250 to $10,000 for businesses